I Tried to Write a “I Did This and Here’s What Happened” Style Post and Here’s What Happened

First off, sorry for the absolute longest title in the world, but I think it most accurately describes the post you’re about to read and the irony that goes with it.

I’ve never been the kind of person to make my bed everyday. It was just another step to go through in the morning and I never felt like I had the time to do something that was just going to get undone 14+ hours later. So I thought I would try to make one of those “I Did This and Here’s What Happened” posts to document my “changed” life and I actually wrote part of a post and took a couple of pictures:

IMG_5404

Day 1: Not going to lie, I almost didn’t do it the first day. I was running super late for school and I didn’t want to take the time to do something that would just make me more late. However, in the end, my desire to create something interesting for this blog won over my desire to be at school on time and I made my bed. It took me a minute, tops, which was really surprising to me! When I make my bed after I wash my sheets, it takes me so long (about 5 minutes) and I expected it to take about the same amount of time in the morning. However, I was pleasantly surprised. To be honest, the sheets underneath the bedspread were not tucked in all that nicely, but the appearance of the bed looked nice and that’s all that matters right?? (Also, I left my throw pillows on the floor of my room so I wouldn’t say my bed making skills were 100% on this day.) Also, there’s something about a made bed that makes me want to keep my room a lot cleaner…

IMG_5407Day 2

And that’s as far as I got… I didn’t make my bed on day 3 and then I just gave up for the rest of the week.

Lesson learned: In order to make something a habit you have to force yourself to do it for a while until it just becomes a natural part of your routine.

Maybe I’ll give another go at the whole bed making thing another time, but for now I’ll stick with the messy rooms and messy beds.

Leave a Reply

