Wicked Book Review

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

What It’s About: The title really says it all. It’s the background of the Wicked Witch of the West and we read about everything you don’t see in The Wizard of Oz. I don’t want to give too much away, but you see that Elphaba isn’t really evil, but rather she has a set goal and is just really irritable to everyone in the process of reaching that goal.

What I Think: To start off, I loved the illustrations in this book. There’s a map in one of the first few pages which I love and each of the sections of the book have an illustration before the start of it. Here’s a picture from the map:

Okay, starting on the actual story. I like when you just get carried away by books and you really have to force yourself to put the book down. I didn’t find that in this book. It’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy the story, but I had no problem setting the book down when I got up to do other things. I think this largely had to do with the fact that this book was quite philosophical. This book talks about the evils of men, dictatorship, revolution, hardship, etc, all things we see in our world today. You say, “Well Gwen, of course there’s going to be evils and hardship. Many books have that theme today.” Well, let me explain it this way: this book is the story of the Wicked Witch of the West with a heaping of philosophy and religion, which is fine, I’d just rather spend my time reading something less philosophical over summer break. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this book to someone, but I think the story under all the philosophy and religion is very interesting.

Here’s one quote that I really liked:

― Gregory Maguire, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

― Gregory Maguire, Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

Have you read this book? Have you seen the musical? What did you think of them? How similar are they?

2 thoughts on “Wicked Book Review

  1. I’ve seen the musical and was really looking forward to reading the book but now I’m not so sure! I might still give it a go, although it sounds like heavy reading! xxx

    Aisling | rosysmiles.blogspot.co.uk

    • It is a bit. I know quite a few people who struggled to get through it. The only reason I made it through is because I hate not finishing books!

Leave a Reply

