Blogging Tips and Etiquette

Now keep in mind when I write this that these are just my opinions. If you’re a blogger too and you don’t like what I have to say, just keep doing what you’re doing. I am a firm believer that blogging is for you and not for other people, but hey, to each her (his) own, right? (Did I say that saying right?) Okay well I’m starting to get a little bit rambly so let’s start.

First off, let’s start with a little grammar. Now I’m not trying to be a grammar nazi, but a couple of these things can be pretty distracting to me when I read a post:

  • defiantly vs definitely – Do you think this product is defiantly worth trying out or definitely worth trying out? Pay attention to the difference. Read this post for more information.
  • brought vs bought – No I don’t think you brought shampoo at a pharmacy, but maybe you bought it? Read this post for more information.
  • there vs their – I sit over there is correct, but saying, I love there hair is not. Instead, say I love their hair. Read this post for more information.
  • your vs you’re – Your is possessive. For example: your book. You’re is a contraction of “you are.” For example: you’re the best. If it can work without the contraction as well, you know it’s correct. (You are the best.) Read this post for more information.

Okay enough with me lecturing you. I’ll probably make these mistakes at some point in writing my blog because my mind often gets all in a tizzy and I start doing all sorts of funky things. Also, I have a really bad habit of not proofreading my work…

The second thing I wanted to talk about is #bblogger chats. Please, please, please be kind in those chats. Those are real people you are talking to, with real feelings. Even saying that you don’t like the chat topic can be hurtful because other bloggers come up with that chat topic and participate in the chat as well. It can be disheartening to see that other bloggers don’t like what you thought would be a good topic for a chat. I’m guilty of it too. Last Sunday I tweeted, “More invested in The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants movie than in this chat. #bbloggers.” It wasn’t directly targeted at the topic, but I didn’t need to say it.

Screen Shot 2014-06-27 at 10.37.42 AM

From my profile on pinterest.com

So my last thought to share with you is a little tip: Use Pinterest boards to organize yourself. See a product you want to try in a #bblogger chat? Pin it. Have a sudden blog idea? Pin it. That way, it’s always on your phone or your computer or wherever you need it to be. My “Blog Ideas” and “Products to Try” boards are both secret so other people can’t see them, but you can make yours public.

Okay, I just wanted to add more thing before I go. When you put an image source under a picture on your blog, you cannot just put “google.com” or “tumblr.com.” The rule for image citing is that a person must be able to find the image with the image citation you give them. If you just put “google.com,” I’m not going to be able to find your image. There are SO many pictures on Google. Same goes for Tumblr, Pinterest, or any other website.

Okay I’m done ranting now.

What are some tips you have for blogging?

Leave a Reply

